Gail Carriger’s Finishing School series

Finishing school1

This December I finished the “Finishing School” series by Gail Carriger and I need to make a post about this series. If you haven’t read any of Gail Carriger’s books yet, do it! If you have, then you know why I am excited.


The series has four books named: Etiquette & Espionage, Curtsies & Conspiracies, Waistcoats & Weaponry, Manners & Mutiny
I love the names of these books. Not only does each title have two words that start with the same letter, but all the books have a word that signals a well-behaved lady (etiquette, curtsies, waistcoats and manners) and a second word that signals the other side of this series (espionage, conspiracies, weaponry and mutiny).


It’s one thing to learn to curtsy properly. It’s quite another to learn to curtsy and throw a knife at the same time. Welcome to Finishing School.

In this series we follow Sophoronia who starts as a student at Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality. While Sophoronia’s mother thinks she’s getting a well needed education to become a proper lady, little does she know that Sophoronia is being educated in the art of espionage.

These books are fantastic. Gail Carriger really knows how to create illustrious adventures with humor and action. Really, in my opinion, these books are never dull, a lot due to the great writing style Carriger has. I haven’t listened to any audiobooks, but when you read these books you (I) often want to start reading out loud just to listen to these wonderfully composed sentences.

Etiquette and espionage

In the first book Etiquette & Espionage we are introduced to Sophoronia, her friends, the school, the teachers. This is her first year at the school and Sophpronia is 14 years old. Each book in this series takes place during one school year, which means we get to follow both Sophpronia and her friends grow up from fourteen-year-olds to more sophisticated seventeen-year-olds. Just like Harry Potter, I think” the one book = one year concept” is great for  these books. You get solid books with their own specific adventures but they still connect throughout the four books. This is a fun, whimsical series that I would recommend to everyone  who likes steampunk, light-hearted adventures and tea and dresses!


design-2I love the design  of these books. I really do. It’s the best designed series of Gail Carriger in my opinion. There’s  so much detail put into these covers even though it’s based on simplicity. Have you noticed the special designed  wallpaper in each cover? The great and clever use of symbols? How she’s  holding a new weapon in each cover? (Always a weapon related to the story) The lovely typography?  All in all I love the design and I’m glad they are on my shelf making it a whole lot prettier.


  1. Oh, I do so love Gail Carriger books. I don’t read a lot of YA but I loved her first adult series so much that I jumped on another and it ended up being a prequel series to the same world! I’d pretty much read any book by Carriger at this point. Funny, witty, and adventurous!

    Love the review, Linn! <3

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *